The Cub Scouts

What is the Cub Scouts?

The Cub Scouts is the largest division of the Boy Scouts of America. Its purpose is to provide activities for boys not old enough to join the Boy Scouts. The Cub Scouts was started in 1930 and is designed for boys in the first through fifth grades .

How do I Join?

Boys join a Cub Scout pack and are assigned to a den in their area, usually a neighborhood group of six to eight boys. They usually meet weekly.

Once a month, all of the dens gather for a pack meeting under the direction of a Cubmaster and pack committee. The committee is comprised mostly of parents of boys in the pack and other interested adults.


Thousands of volunteer leaders, both men and women, are involved in the Cub Scout program. They serve in a variety of positions.

Each Cub Scout pack belongs to an organization such as a school, church, community organization, or other groups of interested citizens. It is chartered by the local BSA council to use the Scouting program. The sponsoring organization provides a meeting place, leadership, supervision, and other services.

How are Cub Scout Packs Funded?

Each boy contributes dues each week. Packs also work on approved money-earning projects. The community supports Cub Scouting through the United Way , Friends of Scouting enrollment, bequests, and special contributions to the BSA local council. This support provides leadership training, outdoor programs, council service centers and other facilities.


The Cub Scouting advancement plan provides fun for the boys, gives them a sense of personal achievement as they earn badges, and strengthens family ties as adult family members work with the boys on projects.

There are several levels that the boys advance through:

Bobcat. All boys are Bobcats when they first join Cub Scouting.

Tiger Cub. This program is for first-grade boys. There are five Tiger Cub achievement levels. The Tiger Cub completes 15 requirements consisting of an interesting series of indoor and outdoor activities to earn his badge.

Wolf. Wolfs are boys who are in the second grade. To earn the Wolf badge, a boy must pass 12 simple physical and mental skills.

Bear. The Bear rank is for boys who are in the third grade. They must pass 12 out of 24 skills to earn the Bear badge. These requirements are somewhat more difficult and challenging than those for Wolf rank.

Webelos. This program is for boys who are in the fourth grade. Webelos is the first step in transitioning to the Boy Scouts. As each boy completes the requirements, he will work on activity badges and attend meetings to become familiar with the Boy Scouts.


The Pinewood Derby is one of the most popular events in Cub Scouting. Every year more than a million boys and parents team up to build and finally race their car in the Pinewood Derby.

The purpose of the Pinewood Derby is to help the Cub Scout build a team relationship with their adult helper, experience the sense of accomplishment and the excitement of competition, learn good sportsmanship, and to have fun.

ABC Pinewood Derby has some useful information about Pinewood Derby car building as well as organizing a race.